University of Maine and Cooperative Extension Researchers

Dr. Seanna Annis
Associate Extension Professor and Plant Pathology Specialist
Professor of Mycology, School of Biology and Ecology
5722 Deering Hall, Rm. 13
Orono, ME 04469-5722
Tel: 207.581.2621
Fax: 207.581.2969
Email: sannis@maine.edu
Expertise: plant pathology, mummy berry, stem blight, and leaf spot diseases

Dr. Lily Calderwood
Extension Wild Blueberry Specialist & Professor of Horticulture
University of Maine Cooperative Extension
5722 Deering Hall, Rm. 103
University of Maine
Orono, ME USA 04469-5722
Tel: 207.581.2321
Email: lily.calderwood@maine.edu
Expertise: Extension Specialist, integrated pest management, crop management, lowbush blueberry production

Dr. Mary Ellen Camire
Professor of Food Science and Human Nutrition
School of Food and Agriculture
University of Maine
5735 Hitchner Hall, Rm. 105
Orono, ME 04469-5735
Tel: 207.581.1627
Fax: 207.581.1636
Email: camire@maine.edu
Expertise: food processing, product development, dietary fiber methodology

Judith Collins
Assistant Scientist of Blueberry Hill Farm
University of Maine
5722 Deering Hall, Rm. 307
Orono, ME 04469-5722
Tel: 207.581.2868
Fax: 207.581.2969
Email: collinsj@maine.edu
Expertise: entomology

Dr. Dorothy Klimis
Professor of Clinical Nutrition
School of Food and Agriculture
University of Maine
5735 Hitchner Hall, Rm. 232
Orono, ME 04469-5735
Tel: 207.581.3124
Fax: 207.581.3111
Email: dorothea@maine.edu
Expertise: health aspects of blueberries, the effect of blueberries on arterial Glycosaminoglycan composition, metabolism, and structure

Joshua Stubbs, Farm Manager
Blueberry Hill Research Farm
1649 US Route 1
Jonesboro, ME USA 04648
Tel: 207.434.2291
Fax: 207.434.2231
Email: joshua.l.stubbs@maine.edu
Expertise: wild blueberry management

2019 Advisory Members

Bruce HallChair
Jasper Wyman & Son
P.O. Box 100
Milbridge, ME 04658
Cell: 207.598.0495
Email: bhall@wymans.com

JD NewellVice Chair
Passamaquoddy Wild Blueberry Company
P.O. Box 63
Columbia Falls, ME 04623
Tel: 207.483.4501
Email: pwbc2@ne.twcbc.com

Denise Alexander
Alexander’s Wild Maine Blueberries, LLC
79 Alexander Way
Greenfield, ME  04418
Tel:  207.570.7500
Email: blueberriesforme@alexandersblueberries.com

James Presley
414 U.S. Rt. 1
Jonesboro, ME 04648
Tel: 207.610.4858
Email: jamespresley@byusco.com

Alan Spear
P.O. Box 315
East Machias, ME 04630
Tel: 207.461.6744
Email: abby_spear@hotmail.com

Katy Yeatts
Cherryfield Foods, Inc.
320 Ridge Road
Cherryfield, ME 04622
Tel: 207.546.7573, ext. 3036
Email: katie.yeatts@cherryfieldfoods.com

2019 Commission Members

Roy Allen, Chair
Allen’s Blueberry Freezer
P.O. Box 536
Ellsworth, ME 04605
Tel: 207.667.5561
Fax: 207.667.8315
Email:  allensblueberries@gmail.com

Ed Hennessey, Vice Chair
Machias Savings Bank
P.O. Box 318
Machias, ME 04654
Tel: 207.255.9280
Email: EHennessey@machiassavings.com

Simeon Allen
W.R. Allen, Inc.
P.O. Box 407
267 Front Ridge Road
Orland, ME 04472
Tel: 207.469.2307
Email: wralleninc@gmail.com

Richard Gardner
P.O. Box 127
East Machias, ME 04630
Tel: 207.255.6039
Email: dmgard@maineline.net

Darin Hammond
Jasper Wyman & Son
P.O. Box 100
Milbridge, ME 04658
Tel: 207.638.2201 or 546.2311
Fax: 207.638.2145
Email: dhammond@wymans.com

David Bell
Cherryfield Foods, Inc./Maine Wild Blueberry Co.
320 Ridge Road
Cherryfield, ME 04622
Tel: 207.546.7573, ext. 3008
Email: david.bell@cherryfieldfoods.com

Todd Merrill
Merrill Blueberry Farms
P.O. Box 149
Ellsworth, ME 04605
Tel: 207.667.2541
Fax: 207.667.4052
Email: tmerrill@merrillwildblueberries.com

Larry Scott
Scott’s Blueberry Hill Farm Inc.
391 Goshen Road
Waldoboro, ME  04572
Tel: 207.832.4160

Patricia Kontur, Director of Programs
Wild Blueberry Commission
5784 York Complex, Suite 52
Orono, ME 04469-5784
Tel: 207.581.1475
Fax: 207.581.3499
Email: pkontu71@maine.edu

David Yarborough, Interim Executive Director
Wild Blueberry Commission
5784 York Complex, Suite 52
Orono, ME 04469-5784
Tel: 207.581.3496
Fax: 207.581.3499
Email: davidy@maine.edu

 

University Researchers, Commission & Advisory Members