COVID-19 Volunteering

Are you ready for in-person COVID-19 volunteering? Please review this checklist to be sure!

graphic of a checkmark in a box for check listIs your in-person project approved for COVID-19 volunteering? 

graphic of a checkmark in a box for check list

If your project isn’t approved yet, we encourage the MGV Project Coordinator to submit a project approval form

graphic of a checkmark in a box for check listIf your project is approved, complete the volunteer approval form to receive individual approval to work on projects.

graphic of a checkmark in a box for check listComplete UNH COVID-19 training (forward certificate of completion to your MGV coordinator).

graphic of a checkmark in a box for check listParticipate in any site-specific training as needed.

graphic of a checkmark in a box for check listAll volunteers must report their hours within a week for contact tracing purposes.


Approved COVID-19 Volunteer Projects

The University has prioritized the Maine Harvest for Hunger programs to be the first in-person Master Gardener Volunteer activities to re-open. Home Horticulture staff will work with Master Gardener Volunteers and community partners to get Maine Harvest for Hunger efforts up and running as soon as possible. MGV Projects that we are prioritizing at this time include the following: 

  • Gleaning at a farm, farmstand or farmers market 
  • Transporting harvested food from your home, farmstand or farm to a food distribution site
  • Maintaining a garden with the primary purpose of growing food for distribution
  • Other similar food security projects that meet the criteria

If you have a MGV project that isn’t related to food security, you may submit a project request form to be considered for approval. Many county programs are considering other MGV projects at this time. Be sure to check-in with your MGV Coordinator if you have an questions or concerns.

Please note: All of the projects listed below have completed all steps of the approval process. We are only listing approved in-person activities below.

Which county do you report your volunteer hours to?

Approved Projects Project Coordinator(s)
Androscoggin and Sagadahoc Counties
Androscoggin Gleaners Becca Schoen, androgleaners@gmail.com
Auburn-PAL Center Dennis Connelly, dennisconnelly@roadrunner.com
Growing to Give Theda Lyden, theda@growingtogive.farm
Highland Green Landscaping Project Tom Fitch,

Local Garden (Bath) Laurie Burhoe, laurieburhoe@gmail.com
Merrymeeting Gleaners Kelly Davis, merrymeetinggleaners@gmail.com
Office Garden Lynne Holland, lynne.holland@maine.edu
Aroostook County
No in-person projects are approved for COVID-19 volunteering at this time.
Cumberland County
Cumberland County Gleaning Initiative  Colleen Donlan, gleaning@ccfoodsecurity.org
Garden Angels Patricia Pollock-Bird, extension.gardenangels@maine.edu
Gorham Middle School Gardens Heather Whitaker, heather.whitaker@gorhamschools.org
Growing to Give Theda Lyden, theda@growingtogive.farm
Jordan Small Middle School Gardens Shelia Frappier, maglady57@hotmail.com
Maine Wildlife Park Marianne Tufts, rugrat28@maine.rr.com
On farm gleaning Pamela Hargest, pamela.hargest@maine.edu
Presumpscot School Gardens Katie Kondrat, katiekondrat@gmail.com
Skillin School Garden Richard Bicknell, 1961rangerrich@gmail.com
Tidewater Farm Pamela Hargest, pamela.hargest@maine.edu
Tom Settlemire Community Garden Judith Long, Judith.h.long@gmail.com
Yarmouth Community Garden Mary Wicklund, mary.wicklund@maine.edu
Franklin County
Hope Harvest Community Garden  Rebecca Long, rebecca.j.long@maine.edu
Hancock and Washington Counties
Extension Office Hoop House and Raised Beds Marjorie Peronto, 207.667.8212
On farm gleaning Rachel Emus, rachel.emus@gmail.com
Sweet Haven Farm Dorcas Corrow and Eva Eicher, dorcas.corrow@gmail.com
Kennebec County
No in-person projects are approved for COVID-19 volunteering at this time.
Knox and Lincoln Counties
No in-person projects are approved for COVID-19 volunteering at this time.
Oxford County
No in-person projects are approved for COVID-19 volunteering at this time.
Penobscot County
On farm gleaning Kate Garland, 207.942.7396
Orono Community Garden John Jemison, 207.581.3241
Rogers Farm Kate Garland, 207.942.7396
UMA Bangor Community Garden Kati Corlew, 207.570.0324
Piscataquis County
No in-person projects are approved for COVID-19 volunteering at this time.
Somerset County
No in-person projects are approved for COVID-19 volunteering at this time.
Waldo County
No in-person projects are approved for COVID-19 volunteering at this time.
York County
No in-person projects are approved for COVID-19 volunteering at this time.