Swine 101: Raising Pastured Pork

3 pigs in a penSpeaker: Dr. Colt W. Knight, Assistant Extension Professor and State Livestock Specialist
Cost: FREE!

The University of Maine Cooperative Extension is excited to announce a FREE series entitled Swine 101: Raising Pastured Pork. This seminar will be held in multiple locations across the state, and a meal will be provided (BBQ ribs!). Join Dr. Colt W. Knight, University of Maine Cooperative Extension State Livestock Specialist, for a primer on the basics of raising swine. Topics include breed selection, nutrition, housing, health care, and more.

Each workshop has a capacity of 30 attendees.

Upcoming Dates/Locations

Friday, February 21, 2020. 11:00 AM – 2:00 PM


Past Dates/Locations

Friday, July 19, 2019. 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM

Monday, July 22, 2019. 5:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Wednesday, July 24, 2019. 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM

  • Location: J. F. Witter Center, 160 University Farm Rd., Old Town, ME 04468
  • Contact: Wendy Robertson at wendy.robertson@maine.edu
  • Special Guest: Dr. Elizabeth Hines, Swine Specialist Penn State University, will be available to answer questions

Friday, August 9, 2019. 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM

Monday, August 12, 2019. 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM (CANCELLED)

Tuesday, August 13, 2019. 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM

Wednesday, August 14, 2019. 11:00 AM – 1:00 PM

Monday, August 19, 2019. 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM

Wednesday, August 21, 2019. Noon – 2:00 PM

Tuesday, November 12, 2019. 10:00 AM – 11:30 AM

If you are a person with a disability and need an accommodation to participate in this program, please contact the person at the location/date listed above to discuss your needs. Receiving requests for accommodations at least 5 days before the program provides a reasonable amount of time to meet the request, however all requests will be considered.

Funded by the Maine Grazing Behavior Lab.