Skip Navigation

Conferences & Other Programs

33rd Annual Maine Potato Conference and Trade Show

potato fieldJanuary 17-18, 2018
Caribou Inn & Convention Center
Caribou, Maine

Who should attend: Potato producers, crop advisors, and farm workers.

Online Registration is CLOSED

  • Cost when registering online: 1-day, $15; 2-day $20 US funds.
  • Cost when registering at the door: 1-day, $25; 2-day $30 US funds.

Registering online ensures you will receive a program packet, printed name tag, abstract booklet (new this year), a ticket to win a door prize, and any additional materials. We are promoting online registration, so please help us in saving some trees! Online registration deadline: January 12, 2018.

If you have questions or need assistance, please contact pam.hickey@maine.edu, or call 207.764.3361.


Tentative Agenda

Wednesday, January 17, 2018:

8:40 a.m. — Challenges in agriculture and potential solutions. Dr. Lakesh Sharma, Soil Specialist and Assistant professor, UMaine Extension, lakesh.sharma@maine.edu

9:00 a.m. — Calcium Supplement in Potatoes and Role of Calcium in Tubers. Dr. Chris Gunter, Extension Vegetable Production Specialist and Associate Professor, North Carolina State University, cgunter@ncsu.edu

9:20 a.m. — Managing Volunteer Potatoes. Dr. John Jemison, Soil and Water Quality Specialist, UMaine Extension, jemison@maine.edu

9:40 a.m. — Increasing Yield Potential Using Remote Sensing (Drone). Douglas Cuffman, doug.cuffman@swarmag.net

10:00 a.m. — Coffee Break

10:30 a.m. — Developing Smartphone Application to Identify Insects. Ahmed Zaeen, Graduate Student, UMaine, ahmed.zaeen@maine.edu

10:50 a.m. — Updates on Dickeya. Dr. Jay Hao, Plant Pathologist, UMaine, jianjun.hao1@maine.edu

11:10 a.m. — Potato Leafhoppers. Jim Dwyer, Crops Specialist, UMaine Extension, jimdwyer@maine.edu

11:30 a.m. — Considering malt barley as potential high value cash crop? Ellen Mallory, Assoc. Professor and Extension Sustainable Agriculture Specialist, UMaine Extension, ellen.mallory@maine.edu

11:50 a.m. — Lunch (on your own)

1:20 p.m. — Farm Service Agency Update. Dave Lavway, State Director of Farm Services Agency USDA, David.Lavway@me.usda.gov

1:40 p.m. — PVY and dandelions. Aaron Buzza, Assistant Scientist, UMaine, aaron.buzza@maine.edu

2:00 p.m. — Board of Pesticide Control Updates. Megan Patterson, megan.L.patterson@maine.gov

2:20 p.m. — Coffee Break

2:50 p.m. — Pros and Cons of Using Whole Seed versus Cut Seed. Leigh Morrow, Director Agronomy North America East, McCain Foods Limited, leigh.morrow@mccain.com

3:10 p.m. — Micronutrient supplementation for potatoes. Dr. Chris Gunter, North Carolina State University, cgunter@ncsu.edu

3:30 p.m. — Use of soil amendments to improve crop production. Sukhwinder Bali, UMaine Extension, sukhwinder.bali@maine.edu

3:50 p.m. — Phosphorus Pollution in Maine. Kathy Hoppe, Maine DEP, Kathy.M.Hoppe@maine.gov

4:10 p.m. — UMPI agriculture major updates. Dr. Jason Johnston, Associate Professor of Wildlife Ecology, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, jason.johnston@maine.edu

4:30 p.m. — Wrap Up and Adjourn

Central Aroostook Young Farmers Hospitality room will be in the Tradeshow Area.

Thursday, January 18, 2018:

8:40 a.m. — What we can learn from Indian Cultivation System? Dr. Lakesh Sharma, Soil Specialist and Assistant professor, UMaine Extension, lakesh.sharma@maine.edu

9:00 a.m. — Updates on Mop Top. Jim Dwyer, Crops Specialist, UMaine Cooperative Extension, jimdwyer@maine.edu

9:20 a.m. — Crop Rotation (Panel discussion). Lead Dr. John Jemison, Soil and Water Specialist, UMaine Extension, jemison@maine.edu

9:40 a.m. — Pros and Cons of Fumigation. Dr. Alicyn Smart, UMaine Extension, alicyn.smart@maine.edu

10:00 a.m. — Coffee Break

10:30 a.m. — Foliar phostrol for Pink Rot. Dr. Jay Hao, Plant Pathologist, UMaine, jianjun.hao1@maine.edu

10:50 a.m. — Learn About Aphids from Last 5 Years. Jim Dwyer, Crops Specialist, UMaine Extension, jimdwyer@maine.edu

11:10 a.m. — The effect of neonicotinoid insecticides on pollinators, global and state of Maine perspectives. Dr. Frank Drummond, Entomologist, UMaine, fdrummond@maine.edu

11:30 a.m. — Lunch (on your own)

12:50 p.m. — Developments in the domestic market for potatoes with an emphasis on retail. Ross Johnson, President and CEO, Potatoes USA, Ross@potatoesusa.com

1:10 p.m. — First Aid on the Farm. Cary Medical Center, Caribou

1:30 p.m. — Potatoes USA update. Ross Johnson, Potatoes USA, Ross@potatoesusa.com, and Jay Lajoie, LaJoie Growers, jay@lajoiegrowersllc.com

1:50 p.m. — Harvesting, handling and storing potatoes in warm weather. George McLaughlin, Maine Potato Board, gmclaughlin@mainepotatoes.com

2:20 p.m. — Florida Test Results. Eric Hitchcock, Maine Dept. of Agriculture, Forestry and Conservation, eric.hitchcock@maine.gov

2:40 p.m. — Wrap Up and Adjourn


Directions:


If you are a person with a disability and need an accommodation to participate in this program, please call Pam Hickey at 207.764.3361 to discuss your needs. Receiving requests for accommodations at least 10 days before the program provides a reasonable amount of time to meet the request; however, all requests will be considered.