2019-2020 UMaine Extension Piscataquis County Annual Report


Office of the Dean

Dean Hannah Carter

Welcome to the University of Maine Cooperative Extension! We are located across the state in 16 county offices, research farms, 4-H camps, and learning centers, and online. We are the largest outreach component of the University of Maine and reach more Maine people than any other entity within the seven campus University of Maine System. Our work is focused on helping Maine communities thrive and we do so focusing on two areas of excellence–the Maine Food System and 4-H. UMaine Cooperative Extension conducts the state’s most successful out-of-school youth education program through 4-H, empowering young people to reach their full potential. Extension also helps support, sustain, and grow the food-based economy across the entire state of Maine. In addition, we partner with other organizations and programs to provide additional educational opportunities to a diversity of audiences across this state.  

UMaine Cooperative Extension is determined to make a positive difference in our areas of excellence and beyond for the citizens of Maine. Explore our website, visit a county office, and contact our enthusiastic workforce.


— Hannah Carter, Dean


Piscataquis County Extension Association

Executive Committee:
Dr. Beth McEvoy, President
Carole Boothroyd, Secretary
Dr. Karen Murphy, Treasurer
George McKay
Gretchen Huettner
Ben Cookson
Steve DeGoosh
David Bridges – Retired

Piscataquis County Staff

Donna Coffin, Extension Professor
Emily Mott, 4-H Community Education Assistant
Sheila Norman, 4-H Professional
Trisha Smith, Home Horticulture Community Education Assistant
Laurie Bowen, Food System Community Education Assistant
Anette Moulton, Administrative Specialist

Putting university research to work in homes, businesses, farms,
and communities for over 100 years.

Our annual report features highlights of recent accomplishments
and the difference we make in the lives of Maine citizens and their communities