2021-2022 UMaine Extension Piscataquis County Annual Report


Office of the Dean

Welcome to the University of Maine Cooperative Extension! We are located across the state in 16 county offices, research farms, 4-H camps and learning centers, and online. We are the largest outreach component of the University of Maine and reach more Maine people than any other entity within the seven-campus University of Maine System.

Our work is focused on helping Maine communities thrive and we do so by connecting people to research-based information, education and services. UMaine Cooperative Extension conducts the state’s most successful out-of-school youth education program through 4-H, empowering young people to reach their full potential. Our youth programming also includes our 4-H camps and learning centers which provide opportunities for youth to engage in outdoor experiential learning. Extension also helps support, sustain, and grow the food-based economy across the entire state of Maine. In addition, we provide valuable statewide programming in nutrition education, healthy families and communities and within the aquaculture industry. We also partner with other organizations and programs to provide additional educational opportunities to a diversity of audiences across this state.

Extension faculty and staff across the state have also contributed to significant digital outreach this past year. Our Extension website, which is a combination of 57 interconnected websites, received 3.1 million views in 2021. We have over 700 research-based publications that are available as free downloads on the Extension Publications website. And in this past year, we had more than 5,000 customers register for workshops, events, webinars and more through our online registration system.

UMaine Cooperative Extension is determined to make a positive difference in our areas of excellence and beyond for the citizens of Maine. Explore our website, visit a county office, and contact our enthusiastic workforce.

— Dean Hannah Carter

Piscataquis County Extension Association

Executive Committee

  • President: Beth McEvoy, DVM
  • Treasurer: Rick Cabot, MD
  • Ben Cookson
  • Steve DeGoosh
  • Judy Cross
  • Kim Merritt
  • Joe Deitz, MD
  • Sarah Robinson
  • George McKay, Retired
  • Dr. Karen Murphy, Retired

Piscataquis County Staff

  • Donna Coffin, Extension Professor
  • Emily Mott, 4-H Community Education Assistant
  • Sheila Norman, 4-H Professional
  • Anette Moulton, Administrative Specialist
  • Laurie Bowen, Food Systems Program Associate
  • Tricia Smith, Home Horticulture CEA, Resigned

Photographs by Edwin Remsberg, Donna Coffin, Emily Mott, and Laurie Bowen.