Skip Navigation

Washington County Extension Association

As the educational arm of County Government, Washington County Extension Association (WCEA) is the citizens advisory group for University of Maine Cooperative Extension in Washington County. UMaine Extension’s successful educational programs result from a federal, state and county partnership that address the issues of Washington County residents. Since 1919, when the Maine Legislature passed the County Extension Act, the University of Maine has been in all Maine communities with a local county office that is funded by county government. WCEA oversees the funding allocated by the Washington County Commissioners, that provides housing, support staff and basic operations for UMaine Extension in Washington County.


Job Description

Ten Basic Responsibilities of County Executive Committees



Wendy Harrington, President

Hope Carle, Vice President

Lynn Mitchell, Secretary

Gretchen Cherry, Treasurer


Cathy Arrington

Richard East

Kathy Mayo

Dana Mitchell

Marianne Moore