Skip Navigation

Maine Grass Farmers Network - Annual Grazing Conference

Print Friendly

2018 Annual Grazing Conference

March 16, 2018
9:00 am – 3:30 pm

Alfond Campus
Kennebec Valley Community College
US Route 201, Hinckley, ME

Pre-registration is required
Deadline to register – March 12

REGISTER ONLINE

Directions

From I-95 North or South: Exit 133, Skowhegan/ Fairfield (US-201)
Merge onto US-201 N/ Skowhegan Road
Appx. 6.6 miles Campus on the Left

There is a blinking light at the Alfond campus entrance
For GPS users, use coordinates 44.669057, -69.630307

It says Fairfield, but the location is actually in the town of Hinkley!

AGENDA

9:00 Registration
9:30 Introductions and Crop Insurance Segment
Gabe – Intro
Erin Roche – Crop Insurance Pasture/Forage Erin.Roche@maine.edu

10:00 -10:50

FIRST
Concurrent sessions

Profitable Meat Marketing, Part I: Improving Your Marketing Skills
Matt LeRoux, Ag Marketing Specialist, Cornell Extension Tompkins County, mnl28@cornell.eduLearn how to develop your farm’s marketing strategy and how to set specific marketing objectives to make your job easier.


Maintaining Soil Health in Pasture
Tony Jenkins, USDA NRCS, tony.jenkins@me.usda.gov


Buying, Selling and Protecting Your Farm with Conservation Easements
Nina Young, Maine Farmland Trust, nyoung@mainefarmlandtrust.org


Fencing Components and Design for an Efficient Grazing System
Dave Kennard, Wellscroft Fence, david@wellscroft.com

11:00 – 11:50

SECOND

Concurrent sessions

Profitable Meat Marketing, Part II: Pricing for Profit
Matt LeRoux, Ag Marketing Specialist, Cornell Extension Tompkins County, mnl28@cornell.edu
Find out if you are covering all your meat marketing costs – including your TIME – and bringing in a profit. Matt will demonstrate Cornell’s online calculator, which uses farm data to develop pricing for meat sold by hanging weight or by cut.


Ticks and Livestock: Should You Be Concerned?
Griffin Dill, UMaine Extension, griffin.dill@maine.edu


Understanding and Using a Forage Analysis
Rick Kersbergen, UMaine Extension, richard.kersbergen@maine.edu


Big Picture Beef
Ridge Shinn, ridgeshinn@gmail.com, www.bigpicturebeef.com 

12:00 – 1:00 LUNCH AND MGFN BOARD MEETING
1:00 – 1:50 KEYNOTE SPEECH

Saving the World With Ruminants
Jeremy Engh, enghs@icloud.com, www.lakotaranchfarmstore.com

2:00 – 2:50

THIRD
Concurrent Sessions

How I Started My Livestock Business: Lessons Learned
Gabe Clark, Cold Spring Ranch, gabe@growcsr.com


Understanding Livestock Labels: What Do They Mean?
Diane Schivera, MOFGA, dianes@mofga.org


Pastured Poultry
Colt Knight, UMaine Extension, colt.knight@maine.edu


Genetics for Grassfed Beef Production
Jeremy Engh, enghs@icloud.comwww.lakotaranchfarmstore.com

Registration Rates – All registration includes lunch.

  • $60 Non-member registration
  • $45 Current MGFN member
  • $45 Current MBPA member
  • $25 Each additional person
  • $25 Students, 18yrs & younger
  • $100 Vendor Booth

For more information contact Rick Kersbergen at 207.342.5971 x1014 or richard.kersbergen@maine.edu


Back to Maine Grass Farmers Network