Poultry

chickens in barn; photo by Edwin RemsbergZoom Course: Keeping Backyard Poultry  

Part 1 – YouTube Video

  • Pros and Cons of raising chickens
  • Brooding chicks
  • Feeding and watering
  • Choosing the breed

Part 2 – YouTube Video

  • Chicken Nutrition
  • Chicken Feeders and waterers
  • Chicken housing
  • Winter care of chickens

Videos, Factsheets, and Other Resources for the Backyard Poultry Keeper

chicks


Before You Start with Poultry

Incubator

Brooder

Water / Nutrition / Housing / General Care 

Eggs

Broilers

Winter Care

Health and Management Information

Other Resources


Health and Management Information (Maine Contacts)

University of Maine

  • Colt Knight, Assistant Professor of Extension – State Livestock Specialist, UMaine Extension, 5735 Hitchner Hall, Rm 133, Orono, Maine  04469. Tel: 207.581.2953; 800.287.0274 (in Maine). Email: colt.knight@maine.edu.
  • Richard Brzozowski, Extension Professor/Educator, UMaine Extension, P.O. Box 9300, Portland, ME 04104. Tel: 800.287.1471. Email: richard.brzozowski@maine.edu.
  • Anne Lichtenwalner, Extension Veterinarian, UMaine Extension, 17 Godfrey Drive, Orono, ME 04409-5735. Tel: 207.581.3874. Email: anne.lichtenwalner@maine.edu.
  • Donna Coffin, Extension ProfessorUMaine Extension, 307 Maine Ave., Bangor, ME 04401. Tel: 207.942.7396. Email: donna.coffin@maine.edu.

State Agencies

  • Michele Walsh, State Veterinarian, Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry. Tel: 207.287.7615. Email: michele.walsh@maine.gov.
  • Donna Flint, Poultry Health Technician, Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry. Tel: 207.557.4623. Email: donna.flint@maine.gov.
  • Celeste Poulin, Director, Maine Department of Agriculture’s Division of Quality Assurance and Regulation. Tel: 207.287.3841. Email: celeste.poulin@maine.gov.

Note: Where trade names or company names are noted in this document, no discrimination is intended and no endorsement by the University of Maine Cooperative Extension is implied.

© 2020