Skip Navigation

Training / Professional Development - Staff Development Committee

Print Friendly

The Staff Development Committee’s role is to assess the staff development needs of UMaine Extension staff and determine ways to address those needs. The committee operates with a annual budget of approximately $9,000 and unspent funds are devoted to organizational meetings held on a periodic basis.

The Staff Development Committee also seeks ideas from staff members for staff development activities. A staff member may propose a staff development activity they are willing to offer or they may propose that organizational resources be used to bring in an outside resource. The Staff Development Committee solicits proposals twice a year and is open to considering a proposal at any time. Please see the proposal submission form (Word).

An activity that would meet the definition of a staff development offering is one that:

  • benefits the total organization; or an employee group (professional, support staff, aides, classified or faculty)
  • is affordable;
  • addresses a need within the organization;
  • does not duplicate other efforts; and
  • crosses program areas, is not specific to one program area.

Your questions and suggestions are welcome. Contact the Staff Development Committee at

Committee members

  • Mike Eckhardt
  • Leslie Forstadt
  • Andrew Plant
  • KymNoelle Hopson
  • Fran Sulinski
  • Sheila Vaillancourt

Related Resources

Back to Training / Professional Development